The battle for control of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) by the pro-Atiku and pro-Wike camps seems to be getting intense.

This is despite this week’s decision of the party’s National Executive Committee (NWC) to still keep Ambassador Umar Ilya Damagum who reportedly enjoys the backing of Wike’s camp as Acting National Chairman until at least August or September. Many people saw this as an initial victory for the camp of Wike.

However, according to a report by The Nation, the calculation of both the Atiku and the Wike’s camps is who will be in charge of the conduct of the national convention of the party in the run-up to the 2027 elections. The report listed 18 states and the FCT where the real battle for control of the party will play out during the congresses.
Those produced at the state congresses will play crucial roles in deciding who becomes the substantive National Chairman of the PDP at the party’s national convention and the National Chairman will then be in charge of the party ahead of the 2027 presidential primary as well as other primaries before the 2027 general elections.

Below are the battleground states:
1. Abia
2. Akwa Ibom
3. Bayelsa
4. Benue
5. Bauchi
6. Cross River
7. Ekiti
8. Gombe
9. Enugu
10. Delta
11. Jigawa
12. Niger
13. Imo
14. Ondo
15. Taraba
16. Plateau
17. Rivers
18. Sokoto
19. FCT (Abuja)

Spread the love